Frequently asked Questions

What is the National Indicator Set (NIS)?

The NIS is a single set of 198 national indicators announced as part of the Comprehensive Spending Review 2007.

National Indicators will be the only measures on which central government will monitor outcomes delivered by local government working alone or in partnership.

They will be reported on by all areas from April 2009.


Why prioritise 35 indicators for the LAA if all 198 are to be measured? What’s so different about the 35 ‘designated’ indicators?

Performance will be reported against all 198 indicators.  The main difference is that a specific target and expected level of improvement is agreed in the LAA for each of the identified priorities.


What about the 16 statutory educational targets?  Why are they separate from LAAs?

These targets are legally separate from the LAA because they are agreed with the Secretary of State for Children Schools and Families under different statutory arrangements.  But it has been made clear in guidance that the statutory educational targets sit within the overall local performance framework and that should be viewed alongside the LAA as part of a single suite of local improvement targets.

Local areas may choose to include additional education related targets from the national indicator set in their up to 35 priorities.


Some targets – smoking, obesity, crime – do not fall under the remit of local authorities.  How can we be sure that the NHS/police will work with the council to meet these targets?

LAAs go significantly beyond local government services.  All public sector agencies in the area have a duty to co-operate with each other and work with local councils to agree the priorities and work together to achieve them.


Will this mean that the council will not deliver on targets that are not included in their priorities?

Every local authority and its service delivery partners continue to report on their performance against all 198 indicators.  Their performance will be measured and assessed against all 198 – whether they feature in an LAA or not..


How will targets be monitored and publicised?

The Comprehensive Area Assessment (CAA) will bring together assessments of performance across each local area and will apply to anything done by the council either acting alone or in partnership.  It will place particular emphasis on delivery against identified LAA priorities for the local area (including both the national improvement targets agreed and any locally set targets).  It will be focussed on delivery of outcomes and will also place more emphasis on local people’s experiences amd perspectives.  CAA will publish:

-performance against indicators in the National Indicator Set;

-the use of resources by each local public body (eg, local authority, fire and rescue authority, primary care trust and police); and

t-he prospects for achieving priority outcomes in the area.

The first findings under CAA are likely to be reported in autumn 2009.



For more information about the Island’s LAA, contact:


Andrea Lisseter, LAA/Corporate Performance Officer  Tel.



Related Links:


‘Strong and Prosperous Communities’ Government White Paper (Oct 2006) – CLG website


‘Developing the Future Arrangements for LAAs’ (February 2007) – CLG website


Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (refer Part 5 p.81)


National Indicator Set – definitions (February 2008) – CLG website


Local Priorities (July 2008) – CLG website


Area Based Grant Guidance (February 2008) – CLG website


Consultation on the future of LAA rewards scheme (July 2008) – CLG website